top of page
Search
  • Sree

A letter to my Niece: Dream Big and Bold!!

Updated: Mar 18, 2020

My little precious,

Happy happy 6 months!! It's too bad neither of us could dig into your yummy cake. It's ok we will have our time soon.

You are half way to turning one today and I am not with you. So, I want to write to you today, something which when you read , may be after a decade or later, will take you back to the new days of your life and you will know how much you were adored. When life begins to make sense to you , I want you to read this and fall in love with yourself which will make you own the world.

When I first saw you, you were so tiny with those beautiful eyes and hair, I was trembling to hold you. But, when I did, I couldn't put you down. You were this miracle who came into this world when our lives were caught in a spin. You filled our lives with endless love, pure love. For me, you are that person who brushed away all the darkness with just your smile and my life started to have a whole new meaning again. From seeing your first sonogram, worrying if you would end up being a little low on the weight, receiving the news of your birth in middle of the day to seeing you for the first time, holding you nervously and now to hoarding my mobile with your pictures and videos, it is the most beautiful and indelible part of my life. You changed my life completely. I can't remember one time when I just not walked right into a baby store everytime I went shopping and hunt for hair accessories. Believe me, now you own more hair wear than I ever had all these years. It's hard not to try to think about you and wait for your picture every morning religiously. I just want to thankyou for the innate happiness you brought into our lives and for choosing us.

Before moving forward, let me tell you about few people around you who right now are having a ball with your birthday cake and sadly, few not like both of us. Your mom, my little sister, is the most annoying thing through out my childhood. From stealing my dresses to attention, she always had it her way, deceiving people with her cute and innocent looks. I still can't wrap my head around the fact how she has grown into this amazing beautiful strong person and now, looking at her become this doting, loving mother is just beyond words. Your father, whom I have known just for few years, is one of the purest souls I have ever met. If I had a brother, I would have wanted him to be just like him. He is such a calming force and there are only laughs when he is around. You know, the best part about him is the way he takes care of you and your mother and it is just so admirable. Your parents are gorgeous people and they are doing a wonderful job raising you the right way. Your grandparents, all four of them, are just bewitched by you right now. I wish you could see the gleam in their eyes when they look at you smiling or cooing or just sleeping dreamily. And, your crazy bunch of aunts and uncles are just going gaga over you.

Sweetheart, if you can sense it by now, you are just surrounded by love and only love. When you grow up I want you to embrace it, hold on to it and spread it. I want you to never let the goodness in your heart fade away as you grow. When you read this, I want you to believe that you are just more than what you think you are. Your life is filled with infinite choices and you need to choose your own path and walk down it with grace and confidence.

You are not far away from being made to believe in the cliche lies that life's worth lies in fist sized waists, fair complexion, A+ grades, trophys, the faith you believe in, fancy possesions and most importantly which rank you hold in other's people's thoughts. Trust me when I say this because I deeply wish someone had told me all this at the right time, you are what you perceive of yourself. You are what you see in the mirror and be proud of. Make yourself proud. Be bold, dream big and work diligently to make it happen but just hold on to your true self. Dont settle for anything which doesn't bring you peace or joy, at the same time never put your values at stake.

Learn to dance or sing, play a sport, read good books, contest in spelling bees, do everything or anything that will make you a better person and a happier person which will make you love yourself all over again. Make good friends in school, you will cherish those ties for a very long time. Make yourself heard and also listen to people when they need you. Be a loyal friend. Never judge someone by what you see or hear, everyone has their own story which are often untold or unheard. Love them for what they are not for what you want them to be.

l have no shred of doubt that you will be brought up with the best values by all these amazing people around you but its upto you to hold onto them and grow from within. Be humble always but dont let anyone belittle you nor you look down upon someone. Be fearless but dont be audacious. Be honest but dont be naive.Let yourself believe in your instincts, take risks and know it's ok to fail sometimes. Never let anyone define you by your failures or your success.There is more to life than these two words. Make your own definition of failure and success. You learn from everything, you just have to be open to experience everything.

You may not be perfect or flawless, but remember you have people in your life who love you immensely for what you are, so just be yourself and be true to your conscience. Anytime you fall or are in doubt, don't forget your folks are always by your side and will be with you always.

So, now that you have a whole life ahead of you, I want you to make the most out if it and have a healthy, happy, long life. I can't wait to see you grow into a bold, beautiful and brave girl which undoubtedly you will be.

Ok, now, first I can't wait to see you in your pigtails and I promise you I will spoil you with the coolest clothes,shoes and bags. I just can't wait to have a full tub of mint choco chip icecream just for ourselves and read stories together. By the way, did I tell you I got your first book when you were 3 months old and you got bored of it just in a few days. So, hold on to that book reading trait, your parents kind of lack it. You might as well take on your father's sleep like a log even when the world is ending trait, I dont mind.

Till next time I hug you,

Lots and lots of love Baby M ❤,

Your forever go to Aunt!!

818 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

What An Year March Has been!!

I right now so can't help but laugh at my ever so confident self stepping into 2020 with a cart full of hopes, now only to realise that it would be more than great to just make it upto the billing cou

bottom of page